on my bedside table

If there is one thing my Book Club knows about me, it is that I do not like short stories.

And that I can’t read books about children being hurt or lost. And that I don’t like goats cheese. And that I have issues with Jane Eyre. And that John Steinbeck floats my boat. And that dytstopian novels confuse and annoy me.

Ok, so I guess they know more than one thing. But high on that list is that typically I don’t like short stories.   Which is why this book was such a surprise.

11686

A lovely, unexpected, delightful surprise.  John Cheever! Who knew? Cheever manages, in most of the 63 (!) short stories, to engage you immediately and decisively.  On the surface you could assume that the book is about a host of middle class, cocktail drinking conservatives – but it’s not. It is raw and gritty and Cheever does not shy away from the realities of depression, alcoholism, death and dysfunction. He is insightful and funny, profound and tragic.

This little treasure is also on my bed side table.

136313

I am trying to read a little each night. It is like the sweetest honey. Pure and good.

From The Book of Hours – “Be content, be content. We are the Body of Christ. We have found Him, He has found us. We are in Him, He is in us. There is nothing further to look for, except for the deepening of this life we already possess. Be content”.

I am also reading ‘To the Lighthouse’ by Virginia Woolf (for Book Club) and I am waiting on my friend to finish ‘Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art” by Madeleine L’Engle to hear her thoughts (I’m guessing that they are going to be very good thoughts).

My Book Depository wish list has gotten out of control…again.  But my birthday is coming up…!

‘Writing down the bones’ by Natalie Goldberg, ‘Pursing Justice’ by Ken Wytsma and ‘The Bellwether Revivals’ by Benjamin Wood are all about to be popped in my shopping basket, handed over to AJ to be wrapped and given back to me with a birthday card attached!

What else should be on my wish list?

x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

